Capital Bond for Wenatchee High School Information

Citizens Facility Committee Members

A Facilities Committee recommended that Wenatchee High School be remodeled and modernized. 

The committee was created by Wenatchee School Board on March 8, 2016, and tasked with studying the district’s school and other facilities, and reporting their finding back to the board. The committee was made up of 33 volunteers who met monthly beginning in March, 2016. The committee found that Wenatchee High School presented the most urgent need. They reported their recommendation at the school board meeting on October 11, 2016.

In studying solutions for Wenatchee High School, the committee studied a number of different scenarios, including building a new high school, converting Pioneer Middle School into a freshman campus, converting Foothills Middle School into an alternate high school, and building a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, Math) academy for 600 students. In the end, they decided the best use of funds would be to modernize the existing school. The original recommendation was to replace old classrooms in the English/studies and science wings with a new 2-story structure, housing students in portables during construction.

District administrators took the committee’s recommendation to the community for their feedback using a ThoughtExchange online tool, and a telephone survey conducted by WSU. The community feedback clearly said the people were concerned with displacing high school students during construction. 

The committee reconvened and worked with architects to develop a new plan that includes the construction of a new 3-story classroom wing behind the gymnasium, and remodeling existing facilities including new: kitchen, commons, music classrooms and library. Windows will be included in as many classrooms as possible. 

Committee Members Roles and Responsibilites (pdf)

Community Representatives
Kathleen Allen 
Brigid Chvilicek 
Joy McCallum-Clark 
Larry Cordes  
Julian Garcia      
Clark Hansen     
John McQuaig 
Oscar Mendoza
Jennifer Silverman-Newman
Abby Phipps
Tyler Russell
Russ Speidel 
Brian Vertrees 
Matt Wisen
Rick Wray 
Kara Zupke 

School Board Representatives 
Walter Newman 
Robert Sealby
District Support Staff 
Jon DeJong 
Brian Flones
Gregg Herkenrath 
Traci Thompson   
Les Vandervort

Administrator Representatives
Eric Anderson
Jim Beeson
Rob Cline
Dennis Conger
Trisha Craig
Pete Jelsing
Kory Kalahar
Kevin Loomis
Dave Perkins

Secondary School Representatives
Chris Ferrians
Jim Kovach
Graham Stansbery
Bob Swardz

Kris Cameron

Tom Bassett
Michael Casey
Brian Fitzgerald
David Zeitlin