District Reception for Out-going Board Members - Nov. 12

School board

The Wenatchee School District will host a special reception for out-going board members, Board President, Sunny Hemphill, and Dr. Karina Vega-Villa on Tuesday, November 12 from 5:30-6:00 p.m. at the Wenatchee School District office, 235 Sunset Ave. Wenatchee. Incumbents Hemphill and Vega-VIlla lost their bids for re-election during this month’s election. Hemphill began her term on the board in 2017 and Vega-Villa was appointed to fill the remaining term of position #2 in January 2019 after Dr. Walter Newman stepped down. 

Newly elected board members, Martin Barron and Tim Larson will be sworn into office at the November 26 board meeting. Larson, who had withdrawn from the race in August but stayed on the ballot, received the most votes for position #2. Larson currently resides within the Wenatchee School District making him eligible for the post.

The reception for Hemphill and Vega-Villa is open to the public and light refreshments will be served.  After the reception, the Board will enter into their regular meeting.